I was aiming for pink

5 Oct

My creation style is a bit slap dash. Freestyle fashion is fearless. Try something, if it doesn’t work, try something else.  I applied my usual methods to a new pasta dish for “Picnic in the Park”, an annual event here in Savannah.

This year’s theme was Pinknic in the Park in honor of breast cancer awareness. A friend made pink cupcakes. I brought pink prosecco and tortellini in red pepper cream sauce. I was aiming for a pink sauce. Rather than go the obvious route, pink vodka sauce, I decided on red peppers.

I roasted 6 small red peppers and 3 small chilies. Then I whirred them up in the blender with a few ounces of goat cheese, fresh basil, a half of a small tomato, a dash of heavy cream, sea salt, and pepper. Similar taste-wise to pesto, the sauce had the texture of mousse. I tossed the sauce with cheese tortellini and capers. Fabulous! The only down side- the sauce is orange not pink.

The next day I pepped up the leftovers with more capers, fresh basil, and some halved cherry tomatoes. Next time around (and there will definitely be a second time) I will use fresh linguine, rather than tortellini. This sauce deserves to be the center of attention.

2 Responses to “I was aiming for pink”

  1. lipmann insurance October 17, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Great writing! I wish you could follow up on this topic 😀

  2. lauraseifert October 18, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    I will be posting a lot more recipes as I develop the blog. Cooking is definitely one of my passions!

Leave a comment