T-shirt Quilt

4 Jan

T-shirt quilt

 

We had acquired about 3 zillion t-shirts over the years. While it’s impossible to wear all of these, it’s also hard to get rid of them because many are fond reminders of schools, races, and great friends. So I made a patchwork quilt.

Using a template (a coffee table book, not the best option really) I cut out the logo/design part of the t-shirt with a circular quilting blade. Then I sewed the rectangles into strips, and sewed the strips together. This is the time to use your machine- don’t bother hand quilting. Rather than using batting and backing, I just purchased a large swath of fleece and quilted the fleece and patched t-shirts together, bringing the fleece around to the front to create a border.

2 Responses to “T-shirt Quilt”

  1. tesstar10 January 4, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on tesstimonies and commented:
    Wonderful! I just got a sewing machine for Christmas and this is exactly what I have been looking for… a simple way to make a blanket for a beginner. WOOHOO!

  2. nancymn January 28, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    What an awesome idea! I have dozens and dozens of T-shirts from my road races – super use for them. Now, if I can only get my retired husband to do this project…

Leave a Reply

