Rethinking “The Minimalist” TV show: Sweet Potato Salad

13 Jun

As I have continued to watch Mark Bittman’s The Minimalist on the Cooking Channel, I like it more and more. Recent shows on desserts and healthy cooking have been great and have inspired a few of my cooking adventures. The dessert episode had a good recipe for sorbet, which morphed into my strawberry-mint daiquiri.

Tonight I worked off of Bittman’s Sweet Potato Salad recipe. I used his basic idea, but used the ingredients I had on hand. I roasted my sweet potatoes and onions with smoked paprika and cumin. I didn’t have bell pepper but added pickled banana peppers instead. It was delicious with a faux-jito (mint and lime juice muddled with sugar and doused with tonic water).  Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Salad with Faux-jito

Leave a Reply

