Herb Garden

3 Jun

I have not had much time to craft recently, but I have started an herb garden. We have a small area in the backyard that gets overgrown with tall weeds. The previous downstairs tenant cut the weeds, laid black anti-weed fabric, and wood mulch on top.
Earlier in the spring, I pulled back the mulch and removed the fabric. I planted several kinds of herb seeds but only cilantro grew. That’s what I get for not going to the trouble to grow seedlings and transplant.
In the past few weeks I planted some potted herbs that were hanging around and were desperate for some fresh air (primarily oregano, I think the rosemary might be beyond help). I bought potted basil and chocolate mint at the farmer’s market last weekend. A good friend gave me oregano and lemon balm from her garden. Between all of these attempts, I have the nice beginnings of an herb garden for little effort.

image
image
image

One Response to “Herb Garden”

  1. Louie July 3, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    This is certainly some thing I need to do more research into, thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

