Pickle Salad

14 May

image

This salad is very similar to a summer salad my Mom makes. I start by chopping some onion (we have vidalias local and in season now). Cover the onions in vinegar (any type will do) and let them sit. Next I prepped the green beans by trimming the ends and cutting them into bite size pieces. While I steamed the beans, I chopped the cucumber. Once the green beans were cooked and cooled, I drained and rinsed the onions. The vinegar soak helps to deflame the onions, so they don’t overwhelm the dish.
Combine all of the veggies and cover with plenty of  balsamic and red wine vinegar, salt, and roughly cracked black pepper. Add a little bit of olive oil and rosemary, and stir in oregano if you wish.
The salad is more pickled veg than veggies with vinagrette, so don’t skimp in the salt. Also this means the salad will need to sit in the frig for at least an hour. The original was just cucs and onions, but I added the green beans for extra nutrition. I love this as a summer salad because it is so refreshing and tangy. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pickle Salad”

  1. Barney Mandolini May 14, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I agree with your thoughts here and I surely love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back & read more in the future. Your post is very interesting. I’ve read your blog for few days now and I trully enjoy your blog. Thank you for your great work!

  2. Lorene Blissett May 16, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Hey, just stumbled on your website from mixx. It’s not blog post I would typically read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thanks for making an article worth reading!

Leave a Reply

