11 Apr

I made this purse when I was in grad school roughly 5-6 years ago.

Seascape Blues PurseI love the colors! The purse is stockinette stitch with two strands knitted together. One strand is a plain blue; the second is a shaggy yarn with shades of aqua and lime. The “wrong” side of the stockinette stitch is facing outwards. The inside is lined with a light-weight, lime green cotton fabric.

I wanted to replicate this round shape with some lovely “surf blue” merino wool. This was the result of months of testing:

craftfailFinally, I got something approaching the rounded, bubble shape from which I was aiming. I knit this purse in the round, using increases and decreases to create the rounded sides.  I still don’t quite have the smooth curves I’m working on.

Surf Blue Bubble PurseThe purse is lined with a navy blue linen blend fabric, and the handles are recycled from a thrift store belt. The top edge is finished with a simple crochet stitch.

closeup of surf blue purseSurf Blue Bubble Purse, second view

 

 

 

One Response to “”

  1. Chere Hrabovsky April 12, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I surely enjoying every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. I in effect feel strongly about it and love looking out more on this topic. If feasible, as you achieve expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with more data? It de facto is very useful for me.

Leave a Reply

