Lacey Clutches for Spring

10 Apr

knitted portion of purseI was inspired to create lacey, spring clutches when I purchased white and cream vintage yarn. These delicate clutches turned out to be almost more trouble than they were worth.

To make these, I knitted three rectangular swatches, then folded them in half and sewed the side seams. For one of the purses, I threaded silver and clear beaded onto the yarn and knitted the beads into the pattern. This was the easy part.

Next, I sewed the lining’s side seams and sewed the zipper onto the lining. I used filmy, pastel fabric for the lining which was difficult to cut, sew, and even pin. Finally, I simply sewed the lining into the knitted purse.

finished pursesFor the  third knitted clutch,  I will make a double lining and hopefully disguise the stitch-work around the zipper better.

For future purses, I will make the lining first, then make the knitted part to fit the lining. This is easiest because I have more expertise in knitting and this fabric was difficult to work.

closeup of beadwork

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Lacey Clutches for Spring”

  1. Olen Swartout April 10, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Great post. Continue to keep more spicy publications. Been following blog for Three days now and I should say I am starting to much like your post. I need to know how can I subscribe to your blog?

  2. Kamala Crouchet April 10, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I wanted to check up and allow you to know how considerably I treasured discovering your blog today. I will reconsider it a real honor to do things at my workplace and be able to make use of the tips discussed on your web page and also share in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position arresting guest writer become on offer at your end, you should let me know.

  3. Sally Riopelle April 11, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    I just wanted to say, I certainly enjoyed your blog post and I added your link to my wordpress blog today as a recommended site. This is the blog I was looking for! Thanks

  4. Bill April 12, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    hi there, quality site, and a very good understand! definitely one for my book marks.

Leave a Reply

