Cloudy & Chili

20 Mar

To go with our rather gray, cool day, I decided to make a stew similar to chili using some ingredients I had hanging around my frig. I started by browning chunks of spicy goose sausage (courtesy of my Dad). Then I added chopped green pepper, onion, and celery (leftover from my parent’s visit). sausage chili Once the veggies were sautéed, I added one can each of: kidney beans, black beans, and diced tomatoes. To spice the chili, I grabbed a can of verde salsa from the frig that was basically empty. I added water, shook it up, and added the “instant stock”. I also added about 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup of taco sauce, leftover from our taco and margarita party. This was like adding tomato paste and spices all in one. A pinch of salt, pepper, and lots of cumin finished the dish. After about 10-15 minutes of simmering, the sausage chili was ready! I ate it over some crushed tortilla chips with a bottle of Mom’s homebrew. Enjoy!

sausage chili and homebrew

 

Leave a Reply

