better than scrapbooking

26 Jan

When I finished graduate school, a friend made me a collage of photos, favorite memories, and inside jokes. This collage is so much better than a scrapbook, because it is a piece of art that hangs on my wall, rather than a book on the shelf that I never think to look at.

collage

Combining art, photographs, movie ticket stubs, and peppered with tiny flip-flops and a wee knitting basket, the collage hangs in my kitchen above my favorite cabinet.  Some of the pictures are simply of friends, others have longer stories that shall not be told outside our little band of brothers.  My favorite part is the background- white paper with lyrics handwritten in fountain pen.

“Take my love, take my land. Take me where I cannot stand.

I don’t care if I’m still free, you can’t take the sky from me.

Take me  out to the black, they’ll know I ain’t coming back

Burn the land and boil the sea, you can’t take the sky from me

Theres’ no place I can be, since I found Serentity

You can’t take the sky from me.”

Leave a Reply

