Seashell windchime

17 Nov
Handmade seashell windchime

Handmade seashell windchime

I don’t have a garden for a windchime. I do have a small “container garden” of herbs and a chilli pepper plant. Although even garden in that sense is probably a stretch.  I made this windchime hoping to put it in a garden someday. It did “ring” in my last apartment when the AC vent blew air thorough the shells.

To make your own, all you need is shells, string, and a drill with a tile bit. First I chose my shells for the top ring and figured out how I they best fit together. These are actually partial shells (probably scallop).  I drilled nine holes in the top shells so I could thread the hanging strings and space them evenly. Also drill holes at the edge of the shells destined to hang from the strings. It is very important to use a tile bit when drilling through shell so you don’t ruin your good bits (or worse). I like to put a thick magazine under the shell I am drilling (good use the September Vogue). Watch your fingers!!!! The drill slips easily on the slick shells.

Next, I glued the top shells together two at a time, making sure to arrange the holes so they were equidistant and roughly at the same elevation. It is best to glue two at a time and wait for the glue to dry before attempting to glue again.

Top ring of shells that supports the hanging strings of shells

While waiting for the glue to dry, take your string or yarn of choice, (I used hemp) and start a simple crochet chain by making a loop, pulling the tail through the loop slightly to make another loop and repeating. I am not a crocheter (crochetess?), so this is definitely the place to expand this idea and make it prettier. Every inch or three, string one the shells and continue crocheting.

Once the full loop is finishing drying, tie the crocheted strings of shell to the holes in the top ring. Finish by crocheting two more strings and running them under the bottom of the ring at right angles.  Bring them to the top of the windchime and use them to support the weight of the windchime. Balance the ring and tie the ends together in a loop for hanging.

Hang in your favorite garden or porch!

Crocheted hemp strings with seashells

closeup of the crocheted strings with shells

One Response to “Seashell windchime”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Driftwood & Seashell Windchime « Freestyle Fashion - May 3, 2011

    […] making a rectangle might also be a direction with which to experiment. I previously wrote about a wind-chime made entirely of shells, but I do love the look of driftwood, and despite its difficulties, I will continue to experiment […]

Leave a Reply

